Meet the Wattle Day Association Committee

Committee (2023-24)

President; Dr Suzette Searle (since 13 August 2019)
Vice-President: Mike Gilmour (since 13 September 2021)
Secretary: Simon Yates (since 30 Nov. 2023)
Treasurer: Judy Tunningley
Public Officer: Suzette Searle
Member: Greg Blood (since 25 Sept. 2023)
Member: Denis Brown (since 25 Sept. 2023)
Member: Teah Searle (since 30 Nov. 2023)
Communication manager: Greg Blood (since 25 Sept. 2023)

Life Members

Dr Rod Panter (ACT) from 1 Sept. 2010
Mr Jack Fahy (ACT) from 1 Sept. 2011 – 31 March 2018
Mr Terry Fewtrell (ACT) from 11 February 2020
Mrs Florence Fahy (ACT) from March 2023

Member Organisations

  • Multicap (2021 merger with Open Minds (Qld) – the latter has been a member since 2012
  • Acacia Study Group (Australian Native Plants Society (Australia)) since 2015
  • Glenlyon Progress Association Inc. (Vic.) since 26 Jan. 2020
  • South Perth Historical Association since 2021

Honorary member

Friends are those who have made a significant contribution and their names are listed below with thanks for all that they have done for the Wattle Day Association.

Maria Hitchcock
Dawn Waterhouse
Julie Ryder
Mark Tunningley (since 1 Feb. 2021)

Historical Images of WDA Committee

:Mrs Florence Fahy was awarded Life Membership of the Wattle Day Association on 6 March 2023. Florence has volunteered tirelessly with the WDA since its formation in 1998.

Florence is pictured below with four of the six other WDA committee members.
Left to right: Blake Kuiper, Suzette Searle Florence Fahy, Judy Tunningley and John Owen

(Terry Fewtrell was taking the photo and Mike Gilmore was zooming in from Brisbane)


‘Wattle Corner’ at the National Arboretum Canberra

Committee members and friends at the National Arboretum Canberra on Sat. 29 August 2020 raising awareness of National Wattle Day with their ‘Wattle in a Bottle” display.

L to R: Judy Tunningley (Treasurer), Mark Tunningley, uzette Searle (President), Dawn Waterhouse (sitting), Christine Julian and Phillip Kodela (WDA committee member)

President: Suzette Searle enjoying the wattle glow at Parliament House Canberra (5 June 2022)


Vice President: Mike Gilmour leading a wattle tour at Mt Coot-tha botanic gardens Brisbane (2020)

Former President and Secretary: Terry Fewtrell was WDA President for 12 years (2007-2019)



Treasurer:: Judy Tunningley with Acacia pycnantha – Australia’s national floral emblem

L to R: Jack & Florence Fahy (founders) and Terry Fewtrell (2013)

Photo: ©S.D. Searle

Yvette Berry MLA with basket of Wattle at a 2015 Citizenship Ceremony

L to R: Florence Fahy, Terry Fewtrell, students (2), Yvette Berry, Judy Tunningley and Jack Fahy

Photo: Mark Tunningley


Representing the Wattle Day Association at Government House, Dawn Waterhouse – Friend of the Wattle Day Association since 1998 and life-long lover of wattle and advocate for the celebration of National Wattle Day – is greeted by The Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia is His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) for the celebration of National Wattle Day 2020.