Golden Wattle Award – Call for Nominations

The Golden Wattle Award

Wattle is a powerful symbol of Australia. Its golden blossoms come from this land and speak of and to its people and place. Wattle predates us all and because of its presence in this land for millions of years, it has welcomed us all and unites us all. It is a bridge between ancient and modern, multicultural Australia.

The Golden Wattle Award is a fitting annual acknowledgement of the person(s) who, like the gold of the Wattle blossom in Spring, stands out in the Australian community, and either by actions or excellence,  brings honour and inspiration to their fellow Australians.

The Golden Wattle Award winner is announced each year on 1 September by the Wattle Day Association.

The award is an honorary recognition of the achievements of an Australian whose contributions in the past 12 months deserve special acknowledgement by Australians.

Determination of the award is based on an outstanding achievement by an Australian or Australians on the international stage in any field or exceptional contribution to Australia (the land) or the Australian people.


Call for nominations for the 2023 Golden Wattle Award

Nominations open for the Golden Wattle Award 2023 on 1 July 2023 and close on 31 July  2023. Please email to:

In no more than 250 words please say why this Australian, or Australians, deserve recognition for their work or actions that express the best of the Australian character and values.

Please note that the Wattle Day Committee’s decision is final. The winner will be announced on National Wattle Day (Thursday 1 September 2022).


Previous recipients

Mike Gilmour (left) Vice-President of the Wattle Day Association congratulates Steve Kreig (Mayor of Lismore)

Previous recipients of this award include the Lismore community (2022), Olympic swimming champion, Emma McKeon (2021), tennis greats Ashleigh Barty and Dylan Alcott, (2019), Craig Challen and Richard Harris, underwater rescuers of the young Thai soccer team (2018), Samuel Johnson and his sister, Connie (2017), Melbourne Cup winning jockey Michelle Payne and her champion strapper brother, Steve (2016), surfers Julian Wilson & Mick Fanning (2015), VC winner Ben Roberts-Smith (2014), Mel Irons a Tasmanian student and community activist (2013), Nobel Prize winner Professor Brian Schmidt (2012) and Tour De France Winner Cadel Evans (2011).